What’s History Is History!

Posted: March 29, 2013 in School
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So I was looking through my history textbook today. I have an important exam coming up and I find that all of a sudden I must review all the history of the world. Sounds just peachy doesn’t it?

Sorry, I have a tendency to use sarcasm a lot where I feel like it belongs. I actually use it for a lot of things..

Anyways, here’s my problem with history: It’s history! Thus, the past. What’s already happened. Shouldn’t we be focusing on the future instead of dwelling and trying to understand what we no longer have a say in??

And I’m not just talking about the subject of history that we must take in school- though I’m not quite fond of that either. I’m talking about everything in general. When people talk about the past, when they ask about the past, when they compare the past, when they drag the past into the present trying to shove it into the future!

Even in school, with my friends, I have never been one to talk about what happened the last year. I mean, reminisce, refer to good memories for a bit, sure. But move on. I don’t see the point of wondering about why something happened when it happened already!

Some people may argue that we look back on history to stop it from repeating, but if we keep talking about it, and bringing it up, and taking it with us everywhere we go, it’s most likely going to repeat! How can people ever even consider getting a fresh start if people are pulling the past with them on a leash?

Life only goes in one direction and though we can look back, we can’t go back. We can’t sit here and regret and dwell and hopelessly wonder whatever had gone wrong. The future is catching up with us fast and if we don’t appreciate what the present has in for us because we’re too busy staring at what’s already done, the present will become a reflection of our past and who knows where the future could go from there.

So there you have it. My rant about why talking about the past just ticks me off. It’s stuff that’s over and done with, gone, has been, no longer here. And with what’s no longer there, there’s no need to talk about it.

Unless of course you are required to know it for an exam..

Leave a Reply

