Freaky Fitness

Posted: May 10, 2013 in Me, Myself, and I
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You guys should know something about me that is true for a lot of teenagers: I am not a fan of exercising.

It’s not like I’m super lazy or anything, I am up for simple walks and stuff but I don’t enjoy flat out running for hours or doing 100 sit-ups. Honestly, who does? Most of the people that claim to “love” exercise are the ones that are trying to get into shape- which is a good thin actually.

But now the weather is getting lighter and there’s less than month of school left and I know that when school lets out for summer all I’m going to do is sit on the couch and gain a couple more pounds.

So therefore, I have joined a fitness boot camp group in my school. I joined to just give it a try since I had never done anything like that before. It’s after school on wednesdays in the fitness room of our school where we work out for about an hour with the coach.

I had my first session yesterday and here’s the thing:

My body still aches. 

It was only an hour and I am only going to be doing it for once a week but the after effects feel like they will last for days.

The trainer made us start off on the trnedmill, which was okay- fairly easy.

Once we finished our laps on the trnedmill, he made us all stand with a good amount of space around us.

We had to 20 jumping jacks, then drop and do the plank hold for 20 seconds, rest for one minute and repeat. This went on for maybe 15 minutes.

Then came the hard stuff. We had to go down in push-up position and do 20 “mountain climbs”. If you’re like me, a stranger to the fitness world, you have no idea what that means. Basically you stay in push up position but take turns bringing each knee up to your chest, kicking back out, switching legs, and repeat. Much harder than it looks, and it looks quite hard too.

We also did series of 20 squats, taking 20 second breaks in between to do plank holds.

And did you all know there is maybe 20 different ways to do sit-ups?

We did sit-ups with our legs up, legs crossed, arms behind our heads, arms reaching out.

All in all, it was just crazy, and so much at once.

I thought for sure I would feel better later, after a good night’s rest and all that.

Right now, it is the night of the day after the fitness and I still wince when I climb stairs.

Everything is just sore, legs, thighs, event shoulders and waist!

Waiting to get my body back to normal because next Wednesday, I’m doing it again.

You know, maybe this fitness thing really isn’t my thing..

But I’ll never forgive myself if I quit so easily..

Leave a Reply

