The Past

Posted: May 25, 2013 in The Poetic Side
Tags: , , , , , ,

The Past

Lingering in the air like the smell of a long crushed cigarette

Haunting my dreams like a ghost that won’t go away

Shaping my future as if I can’t change it

Judging me in every way possible

 

Do you think that I have not learned?

Do you mistake my mistakes for intentions?

Do you think I don’t feel bad enough?

 

No matter what my past is, only I am in control of my future.

Neither you, nor anyone can tell me how to direct my life.

I hold the pen to write the ending to my story.

I am in the driver’s seat driving my life down the path that I want it to go.

You will forever be something I leave behind and watch distantly in my rearview mirror.

Leave a Reply

