How Do You Balance Work And Play And Just About Everything Else In Between?

Posted: July 5, 2013 in School
Tags: , , , , , ,

So I decided I wanted to be productive this summer.

I had no places to go, no big vacation planned, no hassle.

So I wanted to stay home, study, catch up on SAT prep and look at different colleges.

That’s where my issues start.

College.

I like looking through colleges and trying to think where I could see my future happening.

But when I look at my dream college’s requirements, my head swoons.

Yes, they require top SAT scores, and high GPA, that was expected.

But there are so many other stuff. Kids complain that we are more than an SAT score, and colleges only base acceptance on SAT, but the thing is, that’s not the only thing.

There is so much more. If SAT scores were all that mattered, we’d actually have it easy.

Just lock ourselves away for a couple of months, studying for the SAT and figuring out each and every method to get the highest score possible.

Of course, then we’d just let go of everything else. Prioritize.

But that’s not the case. Because apparently, college’s don’t want full nerds. They want a “well-rounded” student. Which, in my point of view, is a sugar coated lie for “a perfect student”.

They want a student that can juggle everything: Someone who’s the leader of clubs, organizes things or groups, volunteers, part-time jobs, internships, plays a sport or instrument, kisses up to teachers, flirts their way into good recommendations and have an amazing top SAT score in the midst of it all.

Oh, and don’t forget to add on the essay and polished application they want.

They pick through everything, is what I see.

And then there’s always the matter of cost. And they only really give the best scholarships to the kids that have the best grades or the kids that are athletes or musicians or whatever. And it’s all just too much.

It’s so much.

And I’m wondering now, because I want to be ahead of time for once instead of procrastinating like I do for everything else.

And that is why every once in a while, even though I have not even stepped into my Junior year of High School, I like to freak myself up over all this college stuff so I can continue doing that all the until I reach the front door of my future college, wherever that may be.

Oh and besides everything in this post…

Shouldn’t I be having fun in the summer times also?

Comments
  1. Don’t forget to add blogging to your list of achievements!

Leave a Reply

