There’s Healthy And Then There’s Fat

Posted: February 2, 2014 in Blogging, Health/Fitness, Our Society Itself..
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One of the most popular things that has been been littering the news and blogs lately is the fat controversy. Yes, I just called it a fat controversy.

The dilemma between what size declares a girl beautiful and whether one should be content with the rolls of fat or not.

Let’s just get this one statement out of the way: A girl in any size can be beautiful. Okay? Now to my next statement: If a girl is in a size that’s unhealthy– whether that being she is too thin or too big- that’s no good.

Insecurity is like a terrible disease spreading through out teenage girls. Too many girls who are not overweight are starving themselves to be thin. And that is the reason why now we see so many articles telling girls that it’s okay to be chubby, plump, and often that’s what makes you even more attractive.

Now, normally, I approve. I am chubby myself and I have struggled with it many times. But I try to accept it because I have realized that I am beautiful and healthy and it is not necessary to go on a diet and try to be thin. I am aware however that if I gain too many pounds and I don’t keep up with my exercise, I will be unhealthy and that is when I need to loose weight.

That’s the thing- these articles that are designed to help girls that already healthy– they appear to be saying, you should be content no matter what size you are. Which I don’t disagree with completely- yes, overweight people can be beautiful.

But.. what about your health? Health is always important no matter which way you go. These articles that are trying to stop girls from getting too thin, shouldn’t be promoting girls who are overweight to stay “too big”.

Obesity is growing problem in the United States and can lead to heart disease, diabetes and much more.

Pleasantly plump, and looking round and soft or chubby is good- but fat to the extent that you are unhealthy is never good.

Just like thin- to the point where you are unhealthy is never good.

Beauty comes in all shapes and sizes but health should always be your top priority. 

Leave a Reply

