Ha, Not Keepin In Touch With Any Of You

Posted: March 19, 2014 in Life, Me, Myself, and I, School
Tags: , , , , ,

People have this vague dream that everyone will keep in touch after high school. That after graduating college everyone will have a reunion and talk about the good old days and stay friends forever.

Well I call bullshit on that.

And you know, the people who talk shit about keeping in touch are actually the ones to disappear as soon as they break loose.

Really, people can barely keep in touch after junior high school and we all go to high schools around the local area. We all have each other’s numbers, emails, and we’re all friends on facebook. Yet, other then a few “likes” here and there, there isn’t any communication at all. And when mircle strikes and someone decides to step up and respark old connections, the conversation goes like this:

“Hey, how’ve you been?”

“Hey, pretty good, and you?”

“Same. How’s everything?”

“Oh you know. Busy. You?”

“Same. Busy.”

“Nice catching up with you.”

How touching. Well, if that doesn’t declare friendship forever, I don’t know what does.

But either way, I don’t even care anymore. Because it might be a pessimistic approach, but it’s a realistic approach.

I don’t expect my closest friends to hold on to me after we’ve parted. I mean, sure, it’s nice to drop a message every now and then to reminisce about memories that are clearly over. But to attempt to drag out something that simply has moved on beneath our feet? That’s just setting yourself up for disappointment.

So I’m straight up right now. I’m not even up to my senior year yet, but honestly, I love all my friends dearly and the memories I’ve created in high school will forever be in my heart, … but I’m going to let go of high school and everyone in it once it’s over. That’s just how it’s meant to be.

Comments
  1. Aaron says:

    I completely agree with this post, but I have made that mistake where I haven’t kept in touch with my friends from prep school (I’m in the UK so that’s what junior is here I think) and its been killing me ever since. Mainly because I don’t think I really have any friends that I can trust anymore and anytime I try to get close to someone they usually push me away. I’m in secondary
    school now (so probs high school for you) and its not easy for a guy like me to make friends or even communicate. I’ve always had ‘false’ hope in the past but I wish and long for things to get better. I can’t comment on what your friends are like because I don’t know them. But when you find someone you want to be around, you do something about it. Just remember that.

    • juddin97 says:

      I understand what you’re trying to say, and I agree. I guess I’ve just hit that point where, if they don’t care, why should I? But I do long for friends that will make the effort and try to stick around. And I know that once I know I can trust someone, once I know I like being around them, I try my hardest to keep them in my life and make sure they know how important they are to me. But the majority of the people I meet aren’t like that so I let go when they do. Hey- maybe I’m just lousy at picking friends- who knows?

      Thanks for your comment though, I haven’t gotten a decent comment in a long time 🙂

  2. whataguild says:

    No problem. I recently created a blog (http://whataguild.wordpress.com/) and I think we both have similar feelings and whatever. Plus, I really like your posts. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

