Teenage Baby Boom

Posted: July 6, 2014 in Our Society Itself..
Tags: , , , , ,

Is it just me or are teenage girl’s left and right getting knocked up?

Sorry for lack of better wording, but “pregnant” feels like a celebration. And putting “teenager’s” and “pregnant” together should in no way be a celebration.

Honestly, though, in the span of just today, I found out two cases.

And the thing is, they’re not even ashamed or being conservative about it. I’m not saying, it’s not great to reproduce and bring in a new life and all. But at this age? What about their future’s? What about everything they ever said they would do when they grow up?

True, it’s possible to do all those things still and it’s not the end of the world. But still.. throwing a baby into the mix complicates things.

And I know, I know, “it wasn’t like it was on purpose”, “mistake’s happen, you just gotta deal”, but there are so many ways to be more careful. Hell, most nurses give out condoms! Use them!

I don’t know, I guess my mentality is different because in my culture, you shouldn’t even be sleeping around until you’re married..

But really, teenager’s are getting pregnant and then declaring it on Facebook or gossiping about it in work like they’re talking about the weather.

Is it just normal now? Is that what our society has come to? To just have a kid when you’re barely an adult and hold onto to the off chance that everything will work out?

That’s crazy. Because in my world, if you find out you’re bringing in a new life before you’ve even let yourself get a chance at your own life, you have a lot of thinking to do.

And maybe do that before just tossing around the news to the whole world?

Really, I don’t mean to judge but.. this isn’t as casual as people are making it out to be..

Comments
  1. mgquinonez says:

    teenagers are getting pregnant left and right because sex is made out to be a casual activity to do for leisure to be “normal”

  2. Ern says:

    “I don’t know, I guess my mentality is different because in my culture, you shouldn’t even be sleeping around until you’re married.” Adultery is expected and condoned in your culture?!

  3. Julie says:

    I don’t know where you live…but where I’m from, if some girl got knocked up, it’d be a huge scandal and there’s no way they’d announce it on Facebook or anywhere, really.

Leave a Reply

